First week of the year @OURganic Gardens

Ok , so here we go – another attempt at blogging … only this time im serious !!! several attempts at getting to grips with it. I think the only way for me to actually do it , is to actually do it !!!

So ill blog and ill blog and we will see what happens .

Every Monday morning I am gona sit in my little office tucked away in my little cottage in Donegal , and tell who ever is interested out there what i’m doing in the community gardens. its hard to believe while we are in the grips of winter with the warm balmy weather , I am busy planning my year out .

20130925-104827.jpg

Its going to be a busy year by the looks of things and I plan to record all the fun of where ill be going , what ill be planting and who ill be meeting.

So Far I will be in  Dunfanaghy Resource Centre , Cara House in Letterkenny , Ards Walled Garden Project , Falcarragh Tidy Towns , Downstrands FRC and my own new community garden in Gortahork … all kicking off in spring 2016! – not to mention a ‘Spring Up’ project starting at the Rainbow Project Derry in February!

poster

Its gona be a busy year 🙂

but in the meantime im happy sorting my seeds and planning my gardens all indoor – there is some tasty veg coming in from the garden but i am looking forward to some tasty salads in the spring – we have a new puppy at OURganic Gardens this year , so he will be keeping me busy as well .

brussel sprouts
Some tasty veg coming in from the winter brassica beds

As we speak Im waiting on my bio dynamic calendar to be delivered as  i want to start sowing , planting and harvesting inline with these teachings which im totally new at  . Im not sure what the conclusions will be yet but I am sure as in everything to do with gardening it will be an interesting journey and Ill keep record of my findings and let you know.

This will hopefully be a weekly blog so let me know if you want to see more or less of some items – if you are interested in joining a new community garden in Donegal this spring then get in touch also .

 

 

3 thoughts on “First week of the year @OURganic Gardens

  1. Lovely! Well done Joanne 🙂

    We learned a bit about biodynamic agriculture at Steiner (as one would….) and my boyfriend’s sister is studying it as her degree at Warmonderhof, in Holland.
    Looking forward to coming and seeing it all in the Spring when I’m back!
    Sarah. xX

  2. Good on you, Joanne! I hope you’ll enjoy the blogging side of things: it’s tougher on you, because you’ll have to craft a post, but also more rewarding, because you really can make a point and show off your successes!
    Looking forward to the biodynamic stuff. Went to a steiner school and took the p*ss, literally, to paint on trees, so I’m intrigued to see what you make of it.
    I’ll be particularly looking forward to seasonal recipes – let me know if you’d like a guest post 🙂
    Steffi x

    1. :)) thanks stephi x I didn’t think of seasonal recipes – but I could perhaps put in veg of the month and see if people could add in a recipe from that ?? And you’ll be top of the list when it comes to guest posts :))

Leave a Reply

